Black Sun Empire is a trio of Dutch disc jockeys and drum & bass music producers. The group consists of Rene Verdult and brothers Milan and Micha Heyboer.

Based out of Utrecht, Netherlands, they started making Drum & Bass in 1995 when they turned to the likes of artists such as Photek, LTJ Bukem, and Ed Rush. After having a few releases on smaller record labels, they managed to get the attention of bigger producers like DJ Trace, currently known for his DSCI4 record label. They have four labels of their own: Black Sun Empire Recordings, oBSEssions, Shadows of the Empire and most recently Blackout Recordings. The group's name comes from the Black Sun Crime Syndicate, which appeared in the Star Wars novel Star Wars: Shadows of the Empire.

While the trio's music is usually defined as darkstep or neurofunk, Black Sun Empire have more recently incorporated dubstep into their productions (for which they created the Shadows of the Empire imprint).

One of their tracks ("Arrakis") was featured in the E³ 2006 trailer of the game EVE Online titled "No Other Destiny".

Black Sun Empire released their latest album From The Shadows in fall 2012.